Driving on the Mean Streets, and By-Ways.

Good grief, people scare me on the roads.  I live in the deep south, where (unfortunately) people seem to lose their minds when it rains (fahgetaboutit when it snows!).  I have lived in many places in the last 30 years, including both the left and other left coast.

People in Cali scare me because they are self absorbed (who knew) even when they drive and they drive F-A-S-T, then we have the folks who just stop in the middle of the free-way (the 8 lane kind) just because they can.

People in PA, NY and NJ, well what can I say, they drive F-A-S-T, and KNOW that rules are for other people. They are maniacs on the road and rude to boot.

People in the South as I mentioned previously, lose their minds when it rains. One southern gal told me that “here in the South we barely can drive when the roads are dry, add the rain, and well, we’re a mess.”  Yeah, I noticed…Add to a little rain putting on make-up while you drive, reading the newspaper, talking on the phone, or my favorite texting and well…let’s just say driving where I live gets REALLY interesting and did I say interesting?

Here is another unfortunate truth about where I live, Northerners LOVE it here and move here in droves. They move here and then try to “remake it” into the rat holes states they came from.  I believe at this particular moment, there are more Ohioans, Jerseyites and NY’kers living here than there are natives…unfortunate for a whole host of reasons, not the least of  which is, when you put Ohioans, Jerseyites , NY’kers and southerners, together on the same stretch of asphalt- well, let’s just say that boy-howdy does it get interesting in a Mississippi minute.

Rush hour traffic takes on a whole new dimension of crazy here. People drive jalopies…I’m sorry, classics here, that break down indiscriminately and usually with disturbing regularity during said rush hour.

When I lived in Cali there was a bumper sticker that I loved, it went something like this, “Thanks for visiting, now go home!”  As a transplant to a state I love, JUST the way it was when I moved here, I say a hearty AMEN!

We moved down here because we loved this state just the way it was, bad drivers and all.  I didn’t know about the bad drivers when I moved here but after living in Cali & Philly, I figured how bad could they be?   Here is the difference between native drivers and Northerners- at least the native bad drivers smile and are happy & smiling as they slowly run you off the road, cut you off or go 35 mph in the fast lane…

TPC

About KellyAnn Hicks-Digby

My hubster & I have been married for almost 35 yrs (seems like yesterday). We are empty-nesters with 2 handsome sons & 2 beautiful daughters-in-law. We also have a large adopted family that are very special to us! I am a not-so-perfect Christian-in-the-making, a wife, a mother, professional Chef, writer & paralegal. I went to college at 50 and graduated with my Bachelors degree 4 years later. We moved to S.C. 7 years ago and love our new home and the Southern culture and our friends and family. I love chocolate, cheesecake and putting a smile on folks & family's faces by creating special meals and sweet treats for them. My passion is to find the best darn chocolate and eat it all! Life cannot & should not exist without great chocolate! Life is short eat dessert first! Till next time ya'll!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Driving on the Mean Streets, and By-Ways.

  1. Alaskans totally get the “Thanks for visiting … Enjoy your trip home” idea. We have Southerners who move here and then think they know how to drive on frozen ground. Any day now we’ll have our annual driviing sideways follies.

    • I have close friends from Alaska, they have told me the same thing :). When they move back home (he’s in the Coast Guard stationed here), we plan a trip to Alaska. One thing on my “bucket list” is to see the the Northern Lights & fish for salmon. They miss Alaska, they tell me there is no place on earth that compares to its beauty. I would have to agree having seen a picture of the glacier in the back yard of their former home.
      Peace!
      TPC

      • It’s tough to fish for salmon and see the northern lights on the same trip. It’s daylight in the summer and the rivers are frozen in the winter. Which means you need to plan separate trips.

        Chena Hot Springs Resort midwinter is the BEST aurora viewing. It will be COLD but if you sit in the outdoor hot tub, you can view for hours.

      • Well, then two trips to Alaska it is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

